Magic Eye: Perspective

As I reflect on the YS convention, I have to start here. For me such events are wonderful on many levels and for many reasons but it’s what happens afterward that I feel is the most important. It’s not really about what God says as much as what God says to do. It’s not so much about hearing from God as much as being obedient to God. It’s really more about leaning in than learning more. It’s about becoming all God wants for us and for us becoming all we really can be for God.

There are a few things that really stuck out to me this past weekend at the YS Conference in Atlanta. Even though this is my 11th trip or so, I still find myself very encouraged and inspired each year to not only attend but to bring others along as well! Even as I write this, I see another thing I gathered from the event. Sharing our story about God is really nothing more than sharing about things like YS. I get something great out of it, it motivates me, inspires me etc. This is all that is necessary in sharing our faith. It’s just letting other people in on the life we lead, the things we do, the places we go and why.

After the Extended Adolescence Symposium yesterday I took a little time to reflect and consider what God may be saying to me. A few words popped out: Perspective and Paradigm Shift to simply name a couple for this blog. Doug Fields and Kenda Creasy Dean spoke about this to some degree in their Big Room Sessions. With two speakers bringing the words to my attention, I wanted to certainly listen for God’s voice.

Kenda Dean used an analogy of a clock spinning in a clockwise direction but depending on how you look at the clock, above or below, the clock can appear to be moving counterclockwise, never changing actual direction. Doug Fields used the illustration of the “Magic Eye” like the one in the pic above. The image can only truly be seen by allowing our eyes to adjust by not looking at what is there but looking beyond what is there, if you will. With both of these illustrations my perspective has to change in order to see things the way they are or could be.

This is not always an easy task. I can be so locked into simply looking at things my way or the way that my eyes have been trained to look. I can be locked into a position unwilling to move and therefore never be able to see anything other than what is physically right before my eyes. Here are a few take aways I had on the sessions about perspectives:

1) Perspective changes with location. In my all-time favorite movie Dead Poets Society, John Keating challenges the young men of Helton Academy to look at life from a different perspective (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w8fu-hq3S7A) by having them stand on their desks (at 57 sec is where the desk part happens) . To see things differently we must be willing to move our vantage point. We have to be willing to look from God’s side of things. Isaiah 55:8-9

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts,
Nor are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD.
9 “For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
So are My ways higher than your ways
And My thoughts than your thoughts.

2) Perspective changes with time. Obviously as time marches on we grow older and look at life much differently than we did as kids. However, one of the things that I have to battle sometimes is the fact that I’m not a kid anymore. When I was a child I could only see what I wanted out of life or out of others. As much as I may want to look at life with rose colored glasses, I cannot. As much as I may want to be irresponsible sometimes, I cannot. Perspective allows me to see that there are things that are not only vitally but eternally important. Paul says in 1 Corinthians 13:11

When I was a child, I used to speak like a child, think like a child, reason like a child; when I became a man, I did away with childish things.

Sadly too many of us are still looking at life through the eyes of a selfish brat. I realized that there are many ways I have to step up and man up and take the lead for some things to happen in my own life and even in ministry.

3) Perspective changes with life. There is nothing that alters one’s view of life more than the reality of death. As I get older, I certainly  am much more aware of my own mortality and impending end on this planet. This has always been somewhat of a concern to me but oh how my awareness is heightened with every birthday, New Year or Arbor Day. Just kidding. Nonetheless, as I reflected on the conference and even the up coming new year, I was reminded that I have to maintain the right perspective on everything. There are some things that I look at now and wonder why in the world did I ever act that way, say those things, respond that way, and pray to God I never do again. There are some areas of my life that I wonder how in the world did I get where I am knowing as little as I did! But by the grace of God I am here. With all of that I am keenly aware of Paul’s admonition to the church at Colossee

1 Therefore if you have been raised up with Christ, keep seeking the things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. 2 Set your mind on the things above, not on the things that are on earth. 3 For you have died and your life is hidden with Christ in God. Colossians 3:1-3

With the YS conference over now and trying to work through these thoughts, I am in a place of pondering and contemplation seeking what God is doing in me and wanting to do through me. I guess at this point all I can really say is that I am hoping to not only see things from a different point of view but I am hoping to be able to see beyond the here and now and into then there and beyond. Because if life is really anything like a magic eye picture then that means God has so much surrounding me that I have not even scratched the surface of. I am adventurously expecting God to reveal many new and wonderful things to me in 2012. I hope your perspective will be the same!

1 Corinthians 2:9

9 But as it is written in the Scriptures:
“No one has ever seen this,
and no one has ever heard about it.
No one has ever imagined
what God has prepared for those who love him.” — Isaiah 64:4

Posted on November 22, 2011, in Devotional and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It was an amazing event George and I am so thankful I was able to attend. I learned so much more than I expected to and I learned it in places I didn’t plan to but I guess that is just how God works. His time, His place. I am just thankful for the opportunity to serve and share with V2H and I am thankful for your heart and dedication. You are a true leader! Our youth are very blessed to have you in their lives and to have you sharing Gods word with them. Keep doing what your doing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,174 other followers

