Christmas Surprises: Luke 1:21

christmas devotional thought

21 She will bear a son, and you shall call his name Jesus, for he will save his people from their sins.”

Remember God is moving you by grace to grace.

23 for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, 24 and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus, 25 whom God put forward as a propitiation by his blood, to be received by faith. This was to show God’s righteousness, because in his divine forbearance he had passed over former sins. 26 It was to show his righteousness at the present time, so that he might be just and the justifier of the one who has faith in Jesus. Romans 3:23-26

Everyday we live we exist in grace. God withholds his wrath and judgment because of unmerited favor. He looks down on us with love not condemnation.(Romans 8:1) He sees not only who we are now but who we will be one day and remembers the end result is the one that counts. I don’t know how He will do it but I cling to verses like Philippians 1:6 that says “and I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.” I certainly place no hope or trust or faith in myself to complete this “good work”. It is sheerly and simply a gift from God to me.

Jesus didn’t come because it was just a noble thing to do. He didn’t do it to just show He was a “nice God”. He came because we were caught in a sin cycle that would lead us to death and destruction. Jesus came to extend to us the grace of God. This Christmas, may I encourage you to readily accept this gift from God? Let Jesus be your Savior. There’s no need to save yourself. Even though it may be nothing for us to buy ourselves a gift at Christmas, salvation from our sins only comes through Jesus Christ and the grace of God. (Ephesians 2:8-9)

Remember Jesus came to give us grace freely. 

As Christmas Eve is here, it is essential to remember that Jesus was born for me; a sinner in need of God’s grace. Yep! I am the reason Jesus came. I stand in need of grace…and so do you. Jesus was God’s gift to us; the embodiment of God and all that is God. Freely given. FREELY. As if “grace” could ever be bought, deserved or earned?

I remember growing up and thinking I had to be “good” for Santa to come and bring me everything I wanted. This thought is not lost on Jesus. Many people, myself included sometimes, feel like we have to do good and be good to earn God’s blessings and favor. Yet this is not the meaning of “grace”. Christmas is not about getting what I deserve or even want. It’s about getting something I could never fully understand and certainly never afford or deserve. Christmas is not about how “good” I can be but rather how truly bad I am and yet how supremely good God is. God doesn’t save me because I am good but because He is. Jesus doesn’t come because of any other reason that we all needed Him as our Savior. He’s the Good One! And if there is anything good in me, it is Christ alone.

The greater I realize my depravity the more I appreciate God’s grace! It’s like a kid a Christmas who loves opening up costly presents but has no idea how much it really costs because he has no concept of money, yet. But when we reach adulthood, all-of-a-sudden, we have a completely different view of cost, don’t we? Opening up gifts and treasuring the thoughts, efforts, and costs have so much more meaning. God’s gift to me is free but I cannot be ignorant of how great His cost! Unwrapping Jesus at Christmas needs to be done with the excitement of a child and the understanding of an adult.

Remember the “Giver” 

Another crucial thing to remember is that Jesus is the gift, not just through whom other gifts come. It’s easy to overlook the Giver sometimes, isn’t it? We’ve all done it to our parents at some point, where we’ve taken them for granted, just wanted to “use” them to get things and not really valued or appreciated the kindness and love which motivates them. Don’t make that mistake this year with God. Don’t look to Him for his blessings of grace, mercy, love, generosity etc. alone. Look to Him. Jesus is the gift. He is the blessing. It’s not just the salvation from our sins or the grace we receive; it’s the person of Jesus. Spend some time with Him today. Enjoy His “presence”.

Posted on December 24, 2013, in Articles, Devotional, Parents, youth, youth workers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,096 other followers

