Creative Spiritual Insights: Don’t Stop Believing

 

Don’t stop believing. The words of a resurgent Journey hit come to mind when I think about being persistent. It is the tenacity to continue even when time and things are tough. It’s the “never give up” attitude. That’s the kind of spirit we must have because we will face opposition. We will become tired and beat down. We will stumble and fall. But we must persist! We must not cave in, give in nor give up! Insist on persistence!

 

Persistence is about how much it takes for you to quit. Persistence is about how deep you can dig. Persistence is about your resolve to continue against the odds. There is no doubt that at times, we all want to quit, throw in the towel, give up, stop short, whine and cry about how hard life can be, and excuse ourselves from the race or the battle. But press on we must. Pressing on in difficult circumstances is what makes one really impressive.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How persistent are you? What gives you the drive to keep going? What is your motivation when times get tough? 

 

How have you lost belief in God? Or yourself? Or others? What can you do about that?

 

What have you given up on that you need to pick back up or need to start again?

 

Have you quit and need to begin again?

 

What situation(s) are making it difficult for you to persist?

 

How can your persistence be used to inspire another?

 

 

“When hard pressed, I cried to the LORD; he brought me into a spacious place. The LORD is with me; I will not be afraid. What can mere mortals do to me?” Psalm 118:5-6

 

5 Then He said to them, “Suppose one of you has a friend, and goes to him at midnight and says to him, ‘Friend, lend me three loaves; 6 for a friend of mine has come to me from a journey, and I have nothing to set before him’; 7 and from inside he answers and says, ‘Do not bother me; the door has already been shut and my children and I are in bed; I cannot get up and give you anything.’ 8 I tell you, even though he will not get up and give him anything because he is his friend, yet because of his persistence he will get up and give him as much as he needs. Luke 11:5-8

Leave a Reply

