Ash Wednesday and Lent

Dear Friends,

Lent begins this coming Wednesday which is Ash Wednesday. It has been a of mine over the last several years to partake in the ancient Christian practice of Lent. I didn’t know much about Lent until a few years ago but it has been a very beneficial and profitable time of fasting, prayer and understanding more about the suffering of Christ for me. Some of you may not even be aware of what Lent is or where it came from. Here is an article you can read to become more familiar with the season of Lent: Season of Lent

These articles may also explain more about Lent and help you discover how God may want to use this practice in your life this season:

http://www.cresourcei.org/cylent.html

http://reflections.cyberpastor.net/bible/what-is-lent/

So what am I going to do during this season of Lent? In the past I have given up meats, (with the exception of seafood), sweets, soft drinks/caffeine, and candy. Of course, I partake of these things and items on Sundays. I have also sought to break away from the use of as much media and technology as possible.

In order to be more effective with the aspect of technology, I will be seeking to to operate and follow this regimen.

Computer/Technology/Phone/ipod usage for business, speaking, journaling etc. but limited to a cumulative amount of  8 hours in a day. The times I will be available will usually be from 10am-2pm and from 4pm-8pm.

Any use of “leisure” and entertainment through computer/TV/phone/ipod/ etc will be limited to 2 hours in a day.

Although this is purely experimental for me, I am going to try and see if I can maintain this schedule.

The whole idea of Lent for me is that I could learn to identify with Christ in the things he willingly gave up for my good. The idea of being able and willing to “share in some of the fellowship of his sufferings” as Paul says, is a good goal to strive toward.

During the 40-day period, I will be using the passages included in booklet to reflect and journal from. I would encourage you to use something similar or go to http://www.biblegateway.com.

It is my prayer that God will reveal Himself greatly to all of us during this Lenten season.

Sincerely,

George

One thought on “Ash Wednesday and Lent

Leave a Reply

