Quiet Time Thoughts: Usefulness?

The issue is never whether I am useful to God or not… the question is am I in a right relationship with God now? A right relationship with God is from what everything within me flows.  God does not need me to accomplish anything for Him. Yet when I am in a right relationship with God, things are done through me that I am essentially unaware. It’s the unawareness of my good deeds that God uses to glorify Himself with most. Those are the natural/supernatural workings of God that stem from a deeply rooted relationship from my Father which are based on my being and not my own doings.

It’s easy for me to get trapped in trying to do much for God instead of letting God do much in me. It’s me that needs to be worked in…not worked through. Instead of trying to become someone God can use I simply need to understand I am someone God loves. Understanding this in a greater capacity will inevitably lead to me being an open vessel for God to work through in any way He chooses.

Do you tend to focus all your energy on God working through you or in you?

How would you describe your relationship with God right now? Thriving? Distant? Cold? Unstable? Inconsistent?

In what ways has God surprised you that He has used you lately? Was that because you felt adequate? Or did God just work in a strange way?

How much do you base God’s love for you on a perfect performance by you?

Do not rejoice in this, that the spirits are subject to you, but rather rejoice because your names are written in heaven —Luke 10:20

15 “I am the true vine, and My Father is the vineyard keeper. Every branch in Me that does not produce fruit He removes, and He prunes every branch that produces fruit so that it will produce more fruit. You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. Remain in Me, and I in you. Just as a branch is unable to produce fruit by itself unless it remains on the vine, so neither can you unless you remain in Me.

“I am the vine; you are the branches. The one who remains in Me and I in him produces much fruit, because you can do nothing without Me. If anyone does not remain in Me, he is thrown aside like a branch and he withers. They gather them, throw them into the fire, and they are burned. If you remain in Me and My words remain in you, ask whatever you want and it will be done for you. My Father is glorified by this: that you produce much fruit and prove to be My disciples.

“As the Father has loved Me, I have also loved you. Remain in My love. 10 If you keep My commands you will remain in My love, just as I have kept My Father’s commands and remain in His love.

John 15:1-9

One thought on “Quiet Time Thoughts: Usefulness?

Leave a Reply

