Funeral: The Shadow of Death

The shadow of death…

As a believer in Jesus Christ, the Author of life and Victor over death, I am able to approach my Aunt’s funeral tomorrow with this perspective: anyone who is a follower of Jesus passes through death to a new life. Death is merely a shadow for those who love and call Jesus Christ alone, Lord. When our lives face Jesus, the eternal sun and Son, His resplendent light casts the shadow behind us. Simply put: when we face the Light the shadow of death is nothing to fear.

My Aunt’s death is the first death in our immediate family in many years. Her fight with pancreatic and liver cancer overcame her on October 12 and she is survived by her husband, three daughters, one son, several grandchildren and even great grandchildren! My Aunt Cam was a wonderful wife, mother and aunt. Even though I did not have much contact with her in recent years, I have some very fond memories of my time with her in the past. I took my very first trip to an amusement park with her and my Uncle Joe and cousin to Kings Dominion. That’s where I rode my first roller coaster, the Scooby-Doo.

As I remember her and spend time with my cousins and family, I cannot escape the fact that Jesus came and died so that we would never have to worry about what happens after death. Jesus came so that we could KNOW that we have life and that this life is found only in His Son.( 1John 4:9, 1 John 5:11-13, 1 John 5:20)Jesus came to take away the fear of the shadow of death, to offer us life eternal and to ensure that all who call on his name would have a resting place with Him in eternity(John 6:39-41)

Obviously my prayers and thoughts are with my Uncle and cousins who are experiencing this huge vacancy in their lives. Thanks to all of you who are praying for us and our family. During this time, let me remind you to make sure the people in your life know how much you love them and moreover know Christ who is our Light. When this is true we have no fear of death for we do not look it in the eye but Christ our Lord. Face the SON and the shadow will fall behind you.

Sobeit.

One thought on “Funeral: The Shadow of Death

Leave a Reply

