From My Heart To My Hands: Lay Me Down

Song Devotional (3)

Lay Me Down

“It will be my joy to say Your will, Your way

It will be my joy to say Your will, Your way

It will be my joy to say Your will, Your way always”

‘My joy? You have got to be kidding me. That’s not what I wanted! I didn’t ask for this! I can’t say it’s my joy when YOU didn’t do what I asked. When you fix it, I’ll say it’s my joy then.’

I have had friends who have said this to God hundreds of times. They ask for something specific and God doesn’t do exactly what they want so they turn on Him. They can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel. God didn’t promise that He would give us everything we wanted, but He did promise to give us everything we needed (Philippians 4:19, New International Version). 

It has been hard for me to say that God knows best at times. My parents put me into a private high school and I hated it. I cried every morning on the way to school for 3 years. It was the worst thing in my world. I felt like there was no way I could praise God. It wasn’t until I was in college that I was able to see what a blessing high school was. I didn’t have to work too hard in certain classes because I had already been taught the material. As a senior in college, I can say that for me, college hasn’t been too difficult, just time consuming. Besides the academics, high school taught me to praise God even when I didn’t want to. He plans everything out for us (Jeremiah 29:11, New International Version). We might not be able to see how it will all work out, but He knows (Romans 8:28, Contemporary English Version). We have to trust Him and “always go to Him for help” whenever we need it (1 Chronicles 16:11, Easy-to-Read Version).

markie

 Markie Love is the leader of the New Vision WAVE Team in Fayetteville, GA. She is attending Liberty Online and serves at New Vision Church in several leadership capacities. 

Leave a Reply

