Quiet Time: Thoughts And Reflecions

George Lockhart

Quiet Time

Jesus . . . said to him, ’One thing you lack: Go your way, sell whatever you have and give to the poor . . . and come, take up the cross, and follow Me’ —Mark 10:21 

My perfection is not the aim of being a disciple of Jesus. Becoming perfect tends to be more about myself than about Christ. The temptation is to have people look to me and at me rather Christ. Instead, Christ is known through my weakness. His power, glory and radiance are seen not when I have it all together but when I actually disappear.

My personal holiness/perfection has nothing to do with my salvation, as it has already been purchased through the blood of Christ. God’s call for me to be holy is more about my identification with Christ alone.When Jesus tells this man to “go your way”, He is letting him know…

View original post 382 more words

Leave a Reply

